To River Place

I had a clinic appointment today in River Place, Islington. It had been a long time coming because the appointments system had been interrupted by the first lockdown and as a result a backlog had built up. I was therefore keen to attend.

Whether or not this was caused by the unusual conditions under which we are currently living, I received not one but several text messages confirming the appointment as well as two letters on paper and, finally, a telephone call yesterday afternoon. They were making sure I didn’t forget to turn up!

There were also instructions: I must not be late or I might not be seen; I must arrive no sooner than 5 minutes before appointment time; and I must wear a face covering while on the premises.

River Place is not far from where we live but, as the old proverb says, “There’s many a slip ‘twixt the cup and the lip” and, in “normal” times, I would aim to leave in plenty of time in case of unforeseen delays. The problem with that is that it’s a cold, rainy day today and all the places where one could normally spend time waiting – cafes, shops, libraries – are all closed.

Tigger was kind enough to accompany me even though she would not be allowed to come inside with me.

Essex Road
Essex Road

We took a 73 bus, intending to leave it at the stop for Essex Road Station, which is a few yards from my destination. The automatic announcements on the bus were out of sync so we exited the bus a stop too early. Not that it mattered, as we were in plenty of time. Despite the unpleasant weather, we would have to use up the time exploring the area.

Expansive street art
Expansive street art

By the time we arrived at the clinic, there was still half an hour to go before they would let me in, so we set out to wander the streets. Just round the corner from the clinic are two seats. Someone has had the idea of brightening up the neighbourhood by not only painting the seats but painting the wall and the pavement as well.

Miniature art - squirrel
Miniature art – squirrel

Street art usually consists of large to huge paintings in prominent positions high up on walls. Just occasionally, one comes across tiny paintings at ground level. Tigger pointed out this squirrel to me, sited right at the bottom of a wall.

The Ivories
The Ivories

We turned into Northampton Street and spied this striking Art Deco building. It is too big to be able to photograph it from the front in this narrow street.

Entrance, the Ivories
Entrance, the Ivories

It looks as though it is really two buildings joined together. It advertises office accommodation for hire. I haven’t been able to find out any date or history for it. Perhaps something will turn up.

River Walk
River Walk

Northampton Street runs into Canonbury Grove wherein we find a park or garden called River Walk.

River Place… River Walk… Do you see a pattern forming here? 🙂

These names derive from the fact that our old friend the New River runs along here. I have mentioned Hugh Myddelton’s noteworthy creation many times before and don’t need to explain it again here. Much of its length is now, sadly, covered over but ever and anon it breaks the surface and runs in the open air for a while as a proper river should. As it does here.

The New River
The New River

Here is another view of it in this small park. Looks idyllic, doesn’t it? And so it is, if you ignore the built-up area pressing in close by.

Roundhouse
Roundhouse

Also in the park is this mysterious circular building. Its windows and door are shuttered and there is no indication of its use or history. It looks quite old snd must have been built to fulfil some purpose but what that was is no longer obvious.

Astley Row
Astley Row

We left River Walk and entered this road or lane which I think is called Astley Row. It made me a little nervous as, from here, I could see no end to it and was worried that it might be a detour and make me late for my appointment. It was still quite early, however, so I calmed myself and continued.

Essex Road and South Library
Essex Road and South Library

Not too long afterwards, however, Astley Row ran into Essex Row right beside the local public library known as South Library, We walked back along the main road until we came to River Place and the clinic once more.

There were still 9 minutes to go before I could present myself at the clinic…

We arranged that Tigger would take a bus ride while I was in the clinic and I would send her a text message when I emerged. With exactly 5 minutes to go, I walked manfully up to the clinic entrance.

I had to ring the doorbell to be admitted. My identity was carefully checked and I was allowed to enter.

Afterwards, Tigger told me she was aboard a 56 bus. I duly caught the 56 bus… but it turned out to be the wrong one! Never mind, we were finally reunited at the stop at Angel Station.

From there, it is but a few steps to Jusaka where we bought coffee and hurried home with it, thus ending our desultory wanderings for today.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.