Christmas Eve

London has been promised a “white Christmas” but so far, I’m glad to say, the snow has not appeared. It’s even a little warmer today with the temperature nudging up to 10°C. Tigger is at work as usual, but her office is due to close at 1 pm in honour of the festive occasion. We have a couple of things in mind to do when she arrives back at the Angel – more of that in due course.

The GP surgery rang me out of the blue the other day to say that I was overdue for a blood test. The caller proposed making an appointment for me and I agreed to this. That appointment was for 9:30 am today.

Amwell Street
Amwell Street

According to the Google Maps app on my phone, it would take me 13 minutes to walk to Finsbury Health Centre whose phlebotomy department was to take my blood. I left home at 9:05, allowing for a margin of error, and set off down Amwell Street.

Finsbury Health Centre
Finsbury Health Centre

The Finsbury Health Centre is in Pine Street. I didn’t know what Covid formalities might be in force there – one reason for leaving extra time – but it turned out that there were none. When I approached, the automatic door sprang open obediently to admit me. Though I was early, I was sent straight to the room where I sat in a big chair while my arm was punctured, blood drawn and a cotton wool swab taped over the puncture. I will presumably hear about the results some time after Christmas.

Exmouth Market
Exmouth Market

On the way back, I walked through Exmouth Market. There were no market stalls present and very few shops were open. Perhaps the others will open later in the day or will stay closed now until next week. The Italianate tower in the right belongs to the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer.

Two shops open
Two shops open

These two shops had hopefully opened their doors but so far there were no customers anywhere in view.

Myddelton Square Gardens and St Mark’s Church
Myddelton Square Gardens and St Mark’s Church

I crossed Amwell Street into River Street and thence to Myddelton Square. The church is fully visible now, bereft of its modesty screen of summer foliage.

Deserted playground
Deserted playground

I peered over the hedge at the playground. There are usually at least a few children here but today it too was deserted.

The Curvaceous Tree
The Curvaceous Tree

I stared up at my favourite, the Curvaceous Tree, now divested of its leaves and revealed in all its curvilinear glory. Then I headed home to make tea and wait for Tigger to arrive back from the City. We keep in touch by text, enabling me to follow her journey home and reach the stop as her bus arrives.

Tigger left work at 1 pm, as planned, and let me know she had boarded a number 43 bus at Old Street. This was my signal to put on my coat and hurry to the bus stop at the clock tower. I boarded the bus and found a seat beside Tigger. Together again! Now for the two activities I mentioned at the beginning.

Bellanger
Bellanger

For the first, we left the bus at Islington Green and came to Bellanger. This French-style restaurant is one of our favourites. We use it sparingly so as not to lose the feeling of it being special. We wondered whether there would be a table free, though, as they were quite busy.

Dining room
Dining room

Yes, they could find us a table if we could please be finished by 3 pm. That left us plenty of time so we were happy to agree.

Bellanger does not have, as some restaurants do, a separate vegetarian menu, and there are just a few such items on the main menu so that we tend to have the same selection each time – another reason for coming here infrequently. The food is very good, though, and the staff courteously friendly, so that a visit here is always a pleasure.

Islington Green
Islington Green

Leaving Bellanger (at 2:58!), we walked through Islington Green on our way to our second assignment. The media have been reporting that London’s streets are “deserted”. Like much reporting on the subject of Covid, this is a silly exaggeration. There were indeed few people on the Green but this, I think, has more to do with the cold and the season than with Covid.

Upper Street
Upper Street

We made our way along Upper Street which was quite busy (and not at all “deserted”) with pedestrians and traffic. All the shops and cafes were open.

The Cutting Bar
The Cutting Bar

Thus we came to White Lion Street and the “Cutting Bar”, where we both had our hair cut. When this no-frills barber’s first opened, a few years ago, a haircut cost £5. It now costs £9 but that’s still a darn sight cheaper than the outrageous prices charged today in the average “salon”.

I often finish a Friday post by saying “the weekend starts here!” It does so this time as well but it’s a longer than usual “weekend” because Christmas Day and Boxing Day fall on Saturday and Sunday, respectively, and so Monday and Tuesday have been made bank holidays to compensate. Just how we will spend the time remains to be seen but I’m sure it will include a few more treats along the way!